Northern Lights Academy

Safe Learning Plan
Click here for:
Right arrow Northern Lights Academy 2020-21 Safe Learning Plan (includes all 3 learning models) 

Right arrow NLA School Closure and Distance Learning Plan (updated May 5, 2020)

Right arrow Families First Coronavirus Response Act Employee Rights Poster


August 28, 2020 Update for Families and Staff From Assistant Special Education Director, Barb Mackey:


Happy Friday! 

As of today, the Northern Lights Academy still has the option to use Scenario 1 - In Person Learning (with all the requirements from the MN Department of Health) for all students attending the NLA. Parents/guardians continue to have the option to request Distance Learning if they are uncomfortable with sending their child to school in person. We continue to monitor the health situation in all the communities we serve and will be in touch if there is a change to the model.

Packets have been sent out to families with information regarding our plans and back to school forms which will be needed the first day of school. The Open House is going to be by appointment only. If you would like to make an appointment, please call the NLA office and choose option 2 for the secretary. Ms. Petersen is our new secretary and she will set up the appointment with your child’s teacher. 

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the NLA office or use our emails to address your questions. We are looking forward to working with you and your child this year!


Location
302 14th Street
Cloquet, MN 55720
218-878-3060
fax: 218-878-3061

Contacts
Barb Mackey x8000, Assistant Special Education Director (bmackey@nlacoop.org)
Emily Brown x8004, Special Education Teacher (ebrown@nlacoop.org)
Amelia Calverley x8006, Direct 878-3062, Special Education Teacher (acalverley@nlacoop.org)
Morgan Warbalow x8005, Special Education Teacher (mwarbalow@nlacoop.org)
Lisa Dalbec x8004, Social Worker (ldalbec@nlacoop.org)
Kristie Petersen x8001, Administrative Assistant (kpeterson@nlacoop.org)
Caleb Komarek x8003, EBD Teacher (ckomarek@nlacoop.org)


Mission Statement

The Northern Lights Academy (NLA) mission is to support children and youth with significant emotional and behavioral needs, as well as those with low incidence disabilities. We provide academic, social and functional skill development, and mental health services to students from the member school districts of The Northern Lights Special Education Cooperative.

Our goal is to foster learning, promote independence, cultivate social and behavior skills, work in partnerships with families, and support students to become successful learners in their least restrictive environment, as well as active, productive members of our communities.


2020-21 School Year Information

For the 2020-21 school year, the NLA will offer Setting 4 Special Education programs for up to 34 students in grades K-8, who need an alternative educational placement. Contact your school's principal for more information.

Related Files image